Pickled

Meet my new friend… Briwax Liming Wax. I want to rub it on everything. Ha ha! I randomly purchased a tub at Guirys the other day because it said it created a white wash,pickled finish on wood. Oooooo. Sounds divine.  So I applied a coat to a pine coffee table and pine desk/dining table I have had in my garage and it rocks! I love the outcome and the pictures do not do it justice because it was sunny. If you have something you want to revive I suggest you give it a try.

I might put another coat on this but I'm liking it as is right now.

 

Here's the coffee table

And this is the status of my garage right now. Thank god it's been so warm out!

Here is a great tutorial from Apartment Therapy

*Note. It says to apply sparingly. I did at first but then really layered it on to get the effect I wanted.

images via here

and here’s a before and after to give you more of an idea

before:

After:

images from here

7 Responses to “Pickled”

  1. Theo Says:

    Thanks for the tip, I have used the regular Briwax, but the application time was so touchy(to long / not long enough) so I started using Minwax Paste Finishing Wax. I always felt that the Briwax held up better, but was more labor intensive. I will have to try the Liming Wax for sure. FYI, readers if you have not used a final waxing step in the past it leaves a factory/professional finish that you want to touch.

  2. Ren Says:

    Oooh! Gives it a “shabby chic” / beach-ey feel. I like it! Thanks for the tip!

  3. Tweets that mention Pickled « M Street Denver -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lee Alex Decor Theo, Megan Kane. Megan Kane said: https://mstreetdenver.wordpress.com/2011/02/23/pickled/ http://fb.me/L48wXjTA […]

  4. Charlotte Catherine Woody Says:

    I certainly enjoyed reading about your experience with liming wax. I have become a fan of The Briwax Guy’s blog: briwax.wordpress.com – and there are some good hints there about using liming wax. I have read to “clean up” the piece, after using liming wax with Clear Briwax? What do you think about that suggestion? I’m looking forward to readying more fun things on your blog!!!

  5. ron brandon Says:

    Where do you get the product and can you use it over a piece that has been waxed with another birwax product. If not what do you suggest to clean off the briwax ?

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

