Ginger Jars

I’m trying to amass a collection of ginger jars, I have quite a few right now but not all are the blue and white variety as they are much harder to come by and they are quite pricey at times. The history of blue and white porcelain can be traced back to the Tang Dynasty.  One might think that a ginger jar is used to hold ginger, true, but, throughout history, ginger jars have been used the way people in modern society use canisters. They were used to hold spices, salt and oils. Some ginger jars were designated as gifts for the emperor, and some were used as urns.

Oh and I think this is my ticket to the cobalt factor in my house. I recently stumbled on the Pink Pagoda site that has some great options.

2 Responses to “Ginger Jars”

  1. Carrie Kolb Says:

    I have been looking for some ginger jars. Thanks Megan!

  2. Nic Says:

    I’ve been obsessed with ginger jars since I was a kid. Love this post.

Leave a Reply

